First Lesson Today...

2,388 Views | 19 Replies | Last: 9 yr ago by WHOOP!'91
ORAggieFan
How long do you want to ignore this user?
Well, first since I started playing again in May. I'm mid 30s and played as a kid, but never very good. Played off and on over the years, then basically took 6 years w/o playing. Now I'm playing 2-4/month plus some practice when I can, but really not improving. USGA Index is 26, despite only breaking 100 once.

Anyway, to my point. I have a one hour lesson today with the plan of buying 5 1/2 hour follow up lessons if it goes well. Curious of anything I should ask the instructor or be looking for. I'm hoping for more of a coaching type relationship and extending it longer term if everything goes well.

Overall I need help on all parts of my game.
stick93
AG
My only advice is to be certain he knows you only want to walk away with, at most, 2 things to work on. Get an honest assessment of all facets but don't leave with ideas to fix everything at once.
Ag_07
AG
I would say make sure he gives you specific drills or routines that you can work on to fix specific things rather just overall advice or instruction.

Rather than him simply say 'Yeah you need to keep your arms in and not come over the top so much. There ya go that looks good. Keep it there'...I like something along the lines of 'You need to keep your arms inside and not come over the top so much. Here is this towel for you to put under your arm when you swing. If you can swing while holding it there that will keep your arms in. Do that 25 times and try it without the towel.'

For me it's not so much about what I'm doing wrong but how the fack can I fix it.
WHOOP!'91
AG