The key to the 2014 Ryder Cup will be........

636 Views | 12 Replies | Last: 9 yr ago by tommeehawk7
tommeehawk7
How long do you want to ignore this user?
Whoever plays the best will win , and I don't think the captains have jack s**t to do with it.

Azinger's "pods" didn't win it for us , making putts won it for us.
Bunk Moreland
Hey John Madden, will you go over to the A&M Football board and post that the key to this weekend's football game will be the team who scores the most points will win? Thanks!
Aggie1391
tommeehawk7
The coach has a lot to do with winning a football game , we are talking about golf here.And when it comes to the Ryder Cup I don't think it matters one bit who the coach is. Or at least it doesn't matter much.
ORAggieFan
Pairings matter. Players have strengths and weaknesses. I could write a lot more on it but for you it's not worth my time.
tommeehawk7
Sure pairings matter , I get that. Dude I have been a player and student of this game and it's history for 48 years.
The players could work out their own pairings.

Obviously I am underrating the captain's role a little bit. But when we win or lose and the captain gets a ton of praise or blame , I guess that's what I disagree with.

For instance , Ben Crenshaw gets mucho love for the great american comeback in 1999. If he was so awesome as a captain how come he let them get so far down?
jj9000
AG
quote:
Hey John Madden, will you go over to the A&M Football board and post that the key to this weekend's football game will be the team who scores the most points will win? Thanks!
Chipotlemonger
AG
quote:
Deluxe
AG
That's mostly true, but I do think captain decision-making matters.

A pivotal turning point in the 2012 Ryder Cup came after the Saturday morning matches. With the Euros down 8-4, Olazabal decided to bench McDowell (who was playing poorly) and pair McIlroy with Poulter. Up until that point, I believe McIlroy had only played with McDowell in his Ryder cup career.