Business & Investing
Sponsored by

PersonalCapital.com advisors keep bothering me

1,783 Views | 7 Replies | Last: 7 yr ago by JSKolache
BombayAg
How long do you want to ignore this user?
I opened an account with them to track my investments and I have been getting emails and calls from "advisors" asking to manage my money and to schedule a call with them.

I manage my own money and don't need them. Is there a way to shut off the calls and emails? They don't have an unsubscribe link or anything in the account that allows this.

Anyone else annoyed by this constant emailing? Is the only way to delete the account?
themissinglink
AG
I have an account with them and they don't bother me anymore. I scheduled a meeting with their advisor and it lasted less than 5 min. I told them I'm a CPA, took a lot of finance classes in college and manage my own money.

Contacting you is their business model and how they can offer their platform "free". They don't have ads the same way mint does. They make money by managing your money.
Gig-Em2003
AG
Just block their phone number from your cell phone.

I actually decided to give them a shot managing my Roth IRA. So far I like the add-ons you get by having them manage your account. I speak with their planners once a quarter and they're good about addressing all parts of a financial picture like my work 401k, 529s, insurance, etc. They'll take a look at them and let you know what they think.

Fees aren't bad either, less than 100 bps, and given the size of my account, it's reasonable. I plan to give them a year to convince me to keep it there. I've never had a financial planner before and like having someone look over my shoulder every once in a while.

BombayAg
Thanks missinglink and GigEm

I am an MBA in Finance as well, and I keep up with the markets and I have worked in some investment data companies so I know how this works. I prefer to manage my money myself.