Business & Investing
Sponsored by

Best way to research and invest in Mutual Funds

2,090 Views | 3 Replies | Last: 7 yr ago by Woody2006
PetroAg87
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
Aggies,

Oldest child recently graduated. Good job, she's maxing out her retirement contributions, and has built up a 5-6 month nest egg. Now she wants to start putting money into Mutual Funds and asked me for advice as to how to do so...

I have a core group of different Mutual Funds that I have been investing in for several years/decades. When researching, I went out to Morningstar and looked at ratings, returns, expenses, value vs growth, big vs small etc. Then I purchased the funds directly through the fund program itself.

Is this still the best way to purchase funds? Morningstar appears to hide much of their data behind a premium subscription service. Are there other fund review sites that anyone can recommend? Any thoughts as to preference of purchasing directly as opposed to purchasing through a brokerage? I know the way that I have done this over the years and I have been largely successful, but I also recognize that there might be better ways than when I first began investing back in the dark ages.

Thanks Ags.
2wealfth Man
AG
PetroAg, I would focus on the low cost segment if you want to go "do it yourself". I think Vanguard is a good place to start in that arena. If you want some ideas and portfolios that have stood the test of time (and market ups and downs) I would also strongly recommend a subscription to the Independent Advisor for Vanguard Investors. Dan Wiener is the brains behind this and he knows almost everything about the Vanguard fund families. They also run model portfolios from which you can pick and choose (higher risk to lower risk) to run yourself. You just have to rebalance periodically to keep the target allocations proper.