Business & Investing
Sponsored by

GPRO - $10.56

6,525 Views | 35 Replies | Last: 7 yr ago by clobby
Dan Scott
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
Help me out here guys. This stock IPOd at $20 and went into the 90s by late 2014. Now it's worth $1.5B and has no debt. It's now trading 1X revenue for what I thought was a growing company.

I've never used a GoPro and never felt the urge to use a GoPro. What makes their camera different than anybody else? Do they have any special patents? Or was this company all brand and now people sick of it?
tamutaylor12
I think their issues are a limited audience, no moat, and probably 1 and done purchases. Once I have bought their product, what more am I going to buy from them? I'm sure there are some nuts out there that want everything they make but I see those people as few and far between.
Duncan Idaho
The one and done is the big issue I see. If I am not a professional action adventure film/documentary maker why would I need to upgrade ever.
bmks270
AG
I see FIT following a similar path.
Duncan Idaho
quote:

My boss had one, it crapped out. He bought an apple watch to replace it.

Ragoo
AG
apple watch and to a lesser extent Garmin are better products than a fitbit, at least for people who are actually interested in tracking their fitnesss milestones. fitbit started as a step counter, steps don't mean anything substantial but it made people feel good. Walking 10,000 steps sounds like a lot so I get positive feedback and endorphins in my brain.
IrishTxAggie
AG
quote:
quote:

I view FIT as extremely limited in their audience and another one and done deal. Come next holiday season, they may see another bump. However, Apple Watch will continue to hurt them because of the brand loyalty and the functionality of the Apple Watch for people that own other Apple products.
Duncan Idaho
Oh I agree. He was a big fan of it and used it religiously. But even then he jumped ship when he had a chance.

tamutaylor12