South Africa Trip

1,610 Views | 5 Replies | Last: 7 yr ago by Phat32
Zigzig
How long do you want to ignore this user?
My wife and I are planning trip to South Africa in February. My business partner went last year and used a local tour agency "Giltedge" to plan their trip. I've never used a tour agency before but he said it was worthwhile. We are active, adventurous, love nature, outdoors, hiking etc. Don't like commercialized touristy places, spa resorts etc. but I get the feeling those are very common in South Africa. We don't mind quality but prefer more casual places.

We have at least 2 weeks to spend and plenty of vacation money tucked away for this. So far they have suggested we fly into Cape Town and spend 4 nights (seems way too long to me, we want to get out to nature ASAP). Drive the Garden Route, then spend several days at lodge in Kruger and another couple of nights at a different safari lodge. Anyone have any thoughts on highlights of your trips and what not to miss or make sure we do. We are pretty flexible.

JSKolache
AG
While in Cape Town, book a Seal Island trip/shark dive w/ Apex. Also do a wine tour thru Stellenbosch & Franschhoek. There's something like 150 wineries w/in 2hr radius of Cape Town. Actually I recommend staying a night in Franschhoek for more wine & book a dinner res at Le Quartier Francais (consistently a top-10 in the country.)

We also did 4 nights at a private reserve alongside Kruger. It was first rate, all inclusive, morning & evening game drives - there are many private lodge options. And I would recommend doing this leg first. Something about waiters & drivers catering to you for a few days just helps ease the jet lag.

Would like to the the Garden Route next time.
Kool
AG