Texas A&M Football
Sponsored by

Aggie War Hymn & the history of how it came to be

138,245 Views | 381 Replies | Last: 1 yr ago by rootube
TruAg
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
This is fantastic!
I'm honored to read the story on TexAgs.
Thanks for the pictures, too.
The War Hymn is such a precious part of every Aggie's heritage.
I love Texas A&M!
joshpettett
AG
Well now I've stayed up even later than I was planning.

Thanks for that.
Houston Lee
AG
Former BQ here and Army veteran. Thank you for sharing this story.

I was a drummer in the Aggie Band and I graduated almost 25 years ago. I can still play the "Aggie War Hymn" by heart. Whether I'm tapping it out with my fingers or playing on the snare drum, It's something I will never forget.
MooreTrucker
AG
quote:
Former BQ here and Army veteran. Thank you for sharing this story.

I was a drummer in the Aggie Band and I graduated almost 25 years ago. I can still play the "Aggie War Hymn" by heart. Whether I'm tapping it out with my fingers or playing on the snare drum, It's something I will never forget.
Same here
dyhardag
AG
War Hymn Aggie,

Thank you for sharing this story with your fellow Ags on TexAgs! It's an exceptional story that adds layers of complexity to the writing of our glorious War Hymn! Your Grandfather was a truly exceptional Aggie and American! The timing being Memorial Day weekend is perfect!

I've always loved our War Hymn, but not to the extent that I will every time I sing it in the future! This story "teared me up" several times throughout.

I'm so proud to be a fellow Ag with you and your Grandfather. God Bless and please stop by and visit us @12th Fan Tailgaters if you are ever near Lot 67/68 on any football weekend.

Gig 'Em!!!!!!!!!!!!
12thMan86
AG
One of the best threads I ever read here on texags
3rd Platoon
AG
This is such Good Bull. Pinky defined the term "Red Ass Aggie"
---------------------------------------
aka Commander 99 and "The Fake Dave South"
Beechcraft AG 91
AG