Story Poster
Photo by Beau Holder, TexAgs.com

It's Official: In leaving for SEC, A&M is coming home

July 1, 2012

Once upon a time, I called South Carolina and Georgia home.

Though a born-and-raised Texan, and damn proud of it, I have experienced my own taste of life in SEC country and known well the feeling of growing up in the region. The Atlantic side of the Deep South shaped the back two-thirds of my adolescence, all through high school, where I graduated in Kingsland, Ga. Its touch lingers with me to this day.

But the years passed, as they always do; my friends and I graduated, parting ways at life's fork and heading off to college all over this land many call 'SEC country.' To Vanderbilt, Tennessee, Florida, UGA, Auburn and LSU they all went.

Me? I came home to call myself an Aggie.

At the time there was never a thought given to the idea of residing in a conference other than the Big 12. There was no Legend of the Bowtie. Not yet. R. Bowen Loftin sat as merely the school's interim president and the bulk of Mike Sherman's tenure in Aggieland had yet to play out.

Funny how times change. On this long-awaited date, SEC Country has annexed the great State of Texas; Texas A&M is headed to the greenest of pastures. This conference, with these people, on this road ahead ... it's exactly where A&M belongs.

Andrew Kilzer, TexAgs Free at last, A&M will finally get to assume the cultural unity it shares with its new brethren in the League of Champions.
Ags, welcome home.

So many have discussed the obvious advantages to the move for the Aggies — financially, competitively, increased exposure. For all those reasons and more, the move was a no-brainer.

But the true beauty in this new conference home, the perfect fit lost in the shuffle, is the cultural cohesion A&M is about to slip into.