Houston
Sponsored by

Any tips on practicing firing a gun cheaply

3,800 Views | 33 Replies | Last: 8 yr ago by TheEyeGuy
Star Wars Memes Only
How long do you want to ignore this user?
Hello,

I've spent most of my life scared of guns. I come from a different culture, and that's just how I grew up. This all changed recently when I went to the range for the first time. Guns all of a sudden were not as scary as I thought, and I found I actually quite enjoy firing them. I would like to spend some more time at the range, but as I am a poor grad-student such a hobby seems cost-prohibitive and I'm considering putting this hobby off for now unless I can find a cost-efficient way to do it.

I currently don't own a gun. I was thinking about buying a hi-point pistol but decided against it after everyone I talked to told me it was a bad idea. My girlfriend's mother has let me borrow her Smith & Wesson SD9VE for a while so I don't have to spend money on a rental every time. However, buying bullets and going to the range is still ~$40 every time, and that's simply too much.

I currently live near downtown houston. I've been doing most of my shooting at top gun shooting range. I took a class over there that taught me the basics such as loading a gun, checking the chamber, basic safety rules, basic firing technique etc. I really like the range, but if anyone knows of any significantly cheaper alternatives or cheaper ways to shoot it would be much appreciated. Also, if anyone know any real life hacks that would allow me to procure a weapon cheaper than retail value it would also be much appreciated.

Thanks and regards.

Bondag
AG
Become a cop.
Star Wars Memes Only
My body's too bootylicious to become a cop

Any other non life-altering tips?
CrossBowAg99
AG
try Baily's House ofGun's near 288 @ BW 8. They may be a cheaper range than top gun

https://www.facebook.com/pages/Baileys-House-of-Guns/154690744566505