Houston
Sponsored by

A&M not "popular" with top 4 private schools

6,428 Views | 53 Replies | Last: 8 yr ago by Diggity
TAMU bball fan
How long do you want to ignore this user?
Could it be because A&M has fallen from a top 50 university to outside the top 75?

http://www.chron.com/news/education/article/Katy-schools-come-out-on-top-on-latest-Niche-5869252.php#photo-7096428

1) St. John's
2) Kinkaid
3) Woodlands Prep
4) Awty
Dan Scott
AG
You're too rich and/or smart to go to A&M. I also bet those schools have less white people
Diggity
AG
plenty of white kids at those schools (aside from Awty).

....but A&M has never been a big destination for those schools.

something wrong with a list that has westbury christian higher than st. agnes, duchesne and john cooper though.
Diggity
AG
I looked at some of the other rankings and that list is hot garbage.
Serotonin
AG
ITL rich kids overwhelmingly choose UT over A&M. When I graduated from HS ('99) A&M was ahead of UT in USN&WR rankings and had the famous Texas Monthly cover from '97 or '98 declaring it to be the top school in Texas. The two schools were pretty interchangeable at that point and you could argue that A&M's trajectory looked much better, but most kids who came from wealthy backgrounds chose UT, and the kids that applied to elite private schools chose UT as their backup, not A&M.

Fast forward to today and UT has opened a pretty big rankings gap and they are widely considered to be the premium product of the two flagship schools, so not surprising at all to see that continue to be the case.
agchugger
AG
Kids from those schools are going to law school, politics, doctors.... Not engineering.
The Milkman
AG
St. Thomas feeds much more to A&M than the other major universities... similar culture.
cwpaggie07
AG
Jesuit not ranked #1, list irrelevant.
cwpaggie07
AG
quote:
plenty of white kids at those schools (aside from Awty).

....but A&M has never been a big destination for those schools.