Grill / BBQ Pit purchase in B/CS

7,811 Views | 23 Replies | Last: 8 yr ago by the pit man
Brewmaster
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
Farm patch has some really nice looking pits - thick heavy gauge steel. Any opinions on these or other places I should check?

Not looking for a huge pit, just something I can buy locally that will last for a while. Mostly I'll use charcoal, but a firebox for some occasional smoking would be nice. Just want something nicer than the thin as a soda can pits that you see outside grocery stores that are junk. I'd also considered an ugly drum smoker, but I'd have to find a nice looking one to keep the wife happy.

techno-ag
AG
I think you can buy the pits Farm Patch has directly from the manufacturer if you want. Here's a recent thread on grills from the OB.

http://texags.com/forums/34/topics/2618458/
GSS
The Char-Griller "Akorn" is a poor-man's Egg, that has yielded some outstanding BBQ for us. I'm a veteran Q-cooker, and the Akorn does an outstanding job of holding the desired temp for hours at a time (it's an insulated unit, porcelain interior surfaces). Lump charcoal preferred, but briquettes will work. Fairly short learning curve on hitting the target temp (over-shoot the temp, and it takes a while to come down).

Available at all the big box stores.
NRA Life
TSRA Life
Orlando Ayala Cant Read
AG
i'm actually about to pull the trigger on a grill myself today. i'm eyeing the Broil King 5 Burner Gas Grill at Lowes.
ksp
quote:
The Char-Griller "Akorn" is a poor-man's Egg, that has yielded some outstanding BBQ for us. I'm a veteran Q-cooker, and the Akorn does an outstanding job of holding the desired temp for hours at a time (it's an insulated unit, porcelain interior surfaces). Lump charcoal preferred, but briquettes will work. Fairly short learning curve on hitting the target temp (over-shoot the temp, and it takes a while to come down).

Available at all the big box stores.
Love my akorn, works great.
armymom