John Raney vs. Blinn College

14,934 Views | 65 Replies | Last: 8 yr ago by atm86
leathal02
How long do you want to ignore this user?
TKDMom
As a proud Blinn-Bryan alumnus and the mother of two Blinn-Bryan students, I can tell you that I am disheartened by the way Blinn leadership has chosen to allocate funds between the Bryan and Brenham campuses. When I graduated from Blinn as a non-traditional student 11 years ago, space was already getting tight. Classrooms typically had every seat full. Over the past 10 years there has been some expansion, but the space currently being used for classrooms is terrible. Old movie theaters don't really make effective lecture halls when the climate indoors is as cold as it is outdoors.

Based on contact hours, Blinn-Brenham spends approximately $7,000/per student/per year, by contrast, Blinn-Bryan spends $3,500/per student/per year. All Bryan campus students pay out of district fees.

But here's the kicker. Blinn Brenham has used Blinn Bryan as a cash cow for so long, that the president if the Washington County Chamber of Commerce stated in the committee hearing that if money from Bryan has to be returned to Bryan, it would severely jeopardize jobs in Brenham and Washington County.

Someone posted earlier in this thread that Blinn has managed just fine for 100 years. My question is why aren't more people outraged at leadership that is so slipshod in it's financial management that they have created a situation in which they must rely on the income from a "satellite campus" just to stay afloat?
australopithecus robustus
Because comparing Brenham to BCS is like comparing BCS to Austin.
FlyRod
Win.
leathal02
AG