Outdoors
Sponsored by

Clay shooting beginner

4,160 Views | 44 Replies | Last: 7 yr ago by Hoss
The Milkman
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
So I went trap shooting yesterday for the first time and loved it. I want to keep trying out more styles and sporting clays as well. But I don't own my own shotgun.

If I wanted to find a decent gun on a bit of a budget what would you recommend? I like the semi auto and the over/under barrel that I used yesterday, but I'm not sure.

What should I expect to pay for that? Is it ok to go used?
AnScAggie
AG
Get ready for a ton of recommendations that will always be higher than what you want to pay. I'm not an expert by any means, but here's the biggest difference to me an automatic makes it more comfortable to shoot the normal 100 clay courses because of the reduced recoil. With that said I typically shoot an O/U because it makes retrieving the shells so much easier. Somewhere between $1000-$2000 you should be able to get a very good gun that will last a lifetime and be something that you will be happy to pass on to the kiddos.
Sean98
AG
It is absolutely OK to go used. An O/U or semi will do you just fine. Look for a gas operated semi given the lighter loads you're likely to be shooting.

No reason you can't find a serviceable gun in the $500-600 range. Then you can get nicer and nicer if you want. You can easily spend a couple grand. But a used Remington 1100 will do you just fine on a clays course.
Hoss
AG
If you're on a budget, just get a Remington 870. Make sure it's something you want to keep doing before you spend big bucks on a gun. You can get a decent and reliable gun for under $500 pretty easy.

I don't remember the brand, but a buddy of mine has a couple of relatively inexpensive OU's be bought at Academy that look good and work just fine. They're not super high quality, but for the price they seemed pretty good to me.
The Milkman
AG