Running High Speed Internet to a Rural Home

2,471 Views | 19 Replies | Last: 8 yr ago by DayAg!
CodeAg
How long do you want to ignore this user?
So I'm looking at buying a home that is technically rural but a lot of new neighborhoods are cropping up really close.

I'm a computer field engineer and need HSI for my work for remote connections into customer environments, delivering training via stream and such.

We're trying to figure our what the options are now but I believe it would only be DSL, Satelite or Wireless. I'm not sure those would be reliable so I may want to track down what it would cost to run a line for TWC, ATT Uverse or FIOS. I know the neighborhood up the road have all three options and it's only 0.8 miles from the home we're looking at. Another option is there is a small art school (Fairly new) that is at the end of our road which is 0.38 miles.

Has anyone paid to have their own line for those services and if so how much are we talking? Is something like this even possible?
CodeAg
BTW during our showing today I noticed that the current owner is an A&M Grad with a Civil Engineering degree.

This would be the only hang up right now for me since I work from home a lot. It would help me as well an Aggie.
spieg12
AG
We live in a rural area and the Internet options are crap. If you need Internet for anything more than web browsing, which it seems you do, go with trying to get those other services.

As a side note, that doesn't seem like a rural area. Our nearest neighbors are cows so we are stuck with crap Internet.
TX scallywAG
AG
Where are you? There's a guy on this forum that does WISP in Brazos.

Ive also heard on ppl opening a business account with AT&T to have them run T1s but ready for construction costs & high monthly bills.
---
Class of '10 - A&M Undergrad & Master's Alum
CodeAg
Thanks for the replies. The home is in Schertz, TX and I've already started calling about connectivity for Time Warner.
Aggietaco
AG