Rate my build

1,299 Views | 18 Replies | Last: 9 yr ago by JonLobb
JonLobb
How long do you want to ignore this user?
Super budget PC gaming rig for my brother

Mobo: AsRock B85 Anniversary LGA 1150
CPU: Intel Core i3-4150 Haswell Dual-Core 3.5Ghz
GPU: XFX Radeon R7 265 2GB
SSD: SanDisk 64GB Ultra Plus
HDD: WD Blue 1TB
RAM: 8GB (2x4GB) G.Skill Ripjaws X Series DDR3 2400
PSU: CoolerMaster Extreme 2 - 525W

eh? what say you
Stasco
AG
As someone who appreciates cost control, I'd say that's pretty solid.
stridulent
AG
I'd recommend at least 120gb on an SSD. Also good to include what your primary uses for the rig will be.
MSCAg
AG
What does the total cost come to?
JonLobb
CPU, MOBO, HDD, GPU came to just over $400

the SSD, RAM, and PSU are being recycled from another build. I think there's about another $150 there.

Total investment probably comes to around $600, maybe a little under.
mid90
AG
I'm not a computer expert by any means, but I'm not sure how much 8GB of RAM will do for you if you've only got an i3 processor.

Price seems great though.
Krys
AG
quote:
I'm not a computer expert by any means, but I'm not sure how much 8GB of RAM will do for you if you've only got an i3 processor.

That i3 supports up to 32GB of RAM.

Really good value build
Maximus_Meridius
AG
quote:
I'd recommend at least 120gb on an SSD. Also good to include what your primary uses for the rig will be.
This. I tried a 64 on my build, and with the way Windows allocates some hidden program files it filled up very quickly. I changed out to a 256 gb Samsung. Wasn't that expensive from Newegg.
stridulent
AG
quote:
quote:
This. I tried a 64 on my build, and with the way Windows allocates some hidden program files it filled up very quickly. I changed out to a 256 gb Samsung. Wasn't that expensive from Newegg.