Does anyone know of an app to chart plays in football?

14,950 Views | 25 Replies | Last: 9 yr ago by Bulldog73
Bulldog73
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
I'm just getting into coaching, and I don't have a single person I can count on to write the play charts in our games. Does anyone know of an app that helps automate the charting process?
Comeby!
AG
We have to write down our own plays. How many assistants do you have?
Bulldog73
AG
There are just 6 of us total, and two are up in the booth (one is watching secondary, the other is the OC and charting their own plays). We've done the writing and had a kid writing it for us, but there's a big learning curve involved with that. If nothing exists we can keep writing it as is, but it'd be great to have a more streamlined, efficient, and cleaner way to keep track of it.

Any great nerds out there that want to make an app for it on iOS? I'd love to test drive it for you to help optimize it. I feel like the coaching community would eat it up, and they'd be willing to pay for it as well.

This is to track down & distance, a customize-able field for defense called, offensive formation, offensive play call, and result. It allows coaches to pick up on tendencies used throughout the game and can help make a good prediction on a third and short.

[This message has been edited by Bulldog73 (edited 8/31/2014 2:33p).]
jeffk
AG
I volunteer to help beta or alpha any app as well.
Comeby!
AG
Y'all don't have/use film? Why have 2 guys in the booth? I'm assuming this is youth football. Our plays are numerical. We just write the number down, yardage gained and ball carrier. The key here is how you leverage the info. If you just write it down and do nothing with it post game or in prep for next week.....

[This message has been edited by Comeby! (edited 8/31/2014 5:04p).]
Bulldog73
AG