Job Network
Sponsored by

Should i ask for a raise?

2,029 Views | 3 Replies | Last: 7 yr ago by TMF
johnrth
How long do you want to ignore this user?
Long story short, I work in a lab environment and have been with the company for 6yrs. When hired I only worked in one lab and occasionally would help in other labs. My manager left and another manger took over my lab. About 3weeks after she took over she exiled me out of my lab and sent me to work in two other labs 20hrs per lab per week. So now I'm doing two completely separate jobs everyday. She told me yesterday she wants to also get me trained to be the back up for the shipping and receiving guy when he is out. And that guy it seems is out quite often. I can handle it and I can do it with a smile on my face, but I'm wondering if it would be a good time to ask for a bigger raise then the typical 1.5% I get yearly, since i do have a lot more and will have more tasks and responsibilities than most other lab technicians. I also have other responsibilities that I voluteered for as PPE lead, EHS committee, and other small various roles.
Koko Chingo
AG
Sounds good. Just use your discretion to pick your time. I would not want an employee to blindside me or drop it on me when I am really busy etc.

Tell your boss you would like to speak with them and ask if they could set aside a few minutes in the week. You can say I just want to run some things by you and have the time set aside to discuss.

Is there an event coming soon that would naturally bring up this topic, such as an annual revue?

A couple things to think about. Is business good? Do not give an ultimatum. If the boss says not now or offers a lower amount ask for specific performance marks to hit and put a date on the calendar to discuss.
JamesPShelley
I agree with Koko.