Job Network
Sponsored by

Current salary expecations for an Entry Level Petro Engineer?

5,411 Views | 23 Replies | Last: 7 yr ago by Line up and wait 18L
espii10
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
I will be interviewing for a position in a start-up oil and gas consulting company. With the current conditions of the industry, what should my salary expectation as an entry-level engineer. I have a feeling this will be asked, and I'd like to give a realistic range. Any advices? TIA!
wsjag
AG
Check glassdoor or salary.com for your city.
Many petro engr are having to compete with seasoned workers so the market is probably very tight with low pay if you are lucky to find work
Comeby!
AG
I would expect between 75-90k
espii10
AG
@wsjag that is indeed true. This is actually my first oil and gas job interview since I graduated last Dec. 2015. I am just so thankful I got at least an interview, and hoping that I do get the job. Thanks, I've been actually looking at glassdoor just now. I am getting an average of 100k annual. With the industry's climate, would asking for a 70,000 annual salary be an overkill?
espii10
AG
quote:
I would expect between 75-90k
Is this range still okay? Since lay-offs are still on-going...
Comeby!
AG
I would consider an offer under $70k to be insulting. Yes I know, there's not many jobs. Still, an engineering hiring manager would not do that to a kid. You can't walk into the high rollers area with $20.
Worlds Foremost Ag
AG
Salary might be lower than average at a "start-up"
espii10
AG
Can I possible say that I can start on a lower range, but I will be expecting increases as long as I perform as expected? I thought giving a lower range would be insulting, but I was also thinking that if I demand a higher salary, they might think that I am being oblivious to the current market conditions.
E
AG