Job Network
Sponsored by

Looking for Mud Engineer Information

35,325 Views | 27 Replies | Last: 4 yr ago by RobbDawg542
JMB_99
How long do you want to ignore this user?
Does anyone on here have any experience as a mud engineer? I am looking for work environment/ hours, compensation, opportunity for advancement, etc. information with this job. I may have the opportunity for a position with one of the bigger oil companies and am looking for any info I can get.
Thanks
DrewDaven
AG
I am in a similar position. So here's a bump.
JMB_99
Bump
fletch03
AG
I am not a mud engineer, but have worked closely with them in the past. Pay is pretty good, typically work a schedule(2 weeks on, 2 off, etc.) with 12 hour days, environment is what you would expect to see on any drilling rig. Advancement probably depends on you, the company you work for, and how the industry is doing at that point in time.

If you are trying to get into the O&G industry it is a pretty good option.
JAggie2007
AG
Depends on what region and what company. Land based is mostly drive-bys with little time off, but there are rotational jobs out there. The big guys HES, MI, and Newpark will all send you to a mud school, mine was 2 months in Houston.

Advancement depends on how you work and your individual situation. The pay is pretty good, I make more than some of my engineer friends who have spent more time at their jobs than I have at mine(18 months in).
thepriceisright24
AG
I'm working as a mud engineer in South Texas currently. I work 7 days on 7 days off. I stay in a trailer on rig site while im working. Sometimes you don't get much sleep. The trailers are usually pretty decent. Mud school was 8 weeks in houston. I have a company truck and all my groceries are paid for when I work. Just post any questions you have I'll keep an eye on this thread.
JMB_99
Thanks for all the responses.

What type of advancement opportunities do Mud Engineers have?