Question for Geologists/O&G industry folks...

2,101 Views | 8 Replies | Last: 7 yr ago by sek92
longsisters
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
I am a teacher and have a student very interested in being a geologist for a major Oil & Gas Company. I am very unfamiliar with this field, but try to give my students a realistic picture of what they are up against so they don't underestimate the work and effort required to get where they want to be. I ask them to research it...but also like to do my own as well.

I realize the market is tough right now, but assuming it rebounds in the next 3-4 years, here are my questions:

-Would you say it is basically necessary at this point to have your MS in geology to be competitive for entry level positions?

-What is a realistic, competitive GPA requirement for entry level stuff?

-What other industries other than O&G would y'all might suggest my student look into?

-Any other suggestions/information to pass on to my student?

histag10
AG
Not personal experience, but it's a tough route. Know several geologists who had their masters and couldn't find work in o&g in the height of the boom.
Joe Exotic
AG
A bachelors in engineering is worth more than a PhD in geology.
Wiggletrace
AG
quote:
A bachelors in engineering is worth more than a PhD in geology.
sooooo, you're saying you are an engineer?

DrZ
AG
I have a BS in Geophysics from A&M
I have been employed for 38 years and going.
The industry has treated me very well
I would/have begged my children not to follow me.
The industry is awful and will never return to the glory days. Geo-science is a shadow of its former self.
If they insist a MS is minimum and a GPA of 3.5 + is mandatory.
I know kids from A&M and UT with 3.7's, good kids with nothing,zero chance of working.
sek92
AG
Ugh! My daughter wants to go into geology. She is applying to A&M in the fall and will apply for geoscience. This thread is making me terrified of her decision.
Kenneth_2003
AG