Vocal critics of Climate Science establishment? Lawyer up.

Adam87inSA
9:36p, 2/10/14
L
AG
One of the most effective ways to silence criticism and chill free speech is to bankrupt the critic in court. Behold a 14 month legal action that has gone nowhere and served no purpose other than to bleed the defendant dry financially. To intimidate others who would dare criticize the govt funded orthodoxy with too much forcefulness. To keep them from being to uppity. To beat them down with... wait for it... a hockey stick.

Mann vs Steyn

[This message has been edited by Adam87inSA (edited 2/10/2014 9:37p).]
NormanAg
9:45p, 2/10/14
L
AG
I'm not a lawyer, but it seems to me a competent judge would have thrown out this case 13 months ago.

If anything, Mann should be brought up on fraud charges. Just kidding, but it would be equivalent to his defamation charges.

[This message has been edited by NormanAg (edited 2/10/2014 9:45p).]
Hotard06
7:51a, 2/11/14
A
AG
quote:
I'm not a lawyer, but it seems to me a competent judge would have thrown out this case 13 months ago.

I believe this is all playing out in the DC courts, so good luck finding a competent judge.
dlance
8:56a, 2/11/14
L
AG
I think I'd make one statement. "Prove what I said is not true." No need for attorneys or fees. Hell I probably wouldn't even show back up in court. **** 'em.
Hotard06
9:22a, 2/11/14
A
AG
Wow, just read a lot more into this stuff. It is pretty crazy.

quote:
I think I'd make one statement. "Prove what I said is not true." No need for attorneys or fees.

This appears to be Steyn's plan. He apparently was part of a joint defense with National Review since the statements he made were in their publication. NR however just wasted an entire year and $500k filing motions and and appeals that were all ultimately denied so they are back at square one. Half a mil poorer, with nothing to show for it. So Steyn is now just going to represent itself.