Where do Economics and Social Justice meet?

1,128 Views | 11 Replies | Last: 7 yr ago by tehmackdaddy
Sq16Aggie2006
How long do you want to ignore this user?
To start off, I'm a business owner, and I've typically looked at labor from a purely human capital perspective, as an input that goes into the cost of my widget production. That companies had a fiduciary responsibility to their shareholders, and that's pretty much it. It wasn't until I read Rerum Novarum and Centissimus Annus a few years ago where my views started to change.

The current Pope Francis, has a record for being a bit harsh on consumerism (which is appropriate I feel), which leaks over into free market capitalism (which I don't feel is fair). The Pope is admittedly not an economist, and I think does a bit of a disservice to Catholic businessmen when he gives blanket statements bereft of nuance.

With that being said, I've been struggling with the idea of sweatshops and companies outsourcing labor to low paying, low overhead, low safety countries; and of high-end luxury goods.

I understand that the people in these countries really have no other options; and that any sort of pay, regardless of how backbreaking or how dangerous must be worthwhile to them; or the positions would go unfilled. I understand that. However, I also understand that in some cases that they are able to improve the pay and the conditions of these areas without severely impacting their profit; which would enormously benefit their workforce. Then you have the argument that the pay that is being given to these people which is above market rate could be used to further invest in other areas, or give bonus to executive employees, etc etc and around and around we go. You've also less efficient which may allow your competition to undercut your prices, but outsourcing and paying market rates. You go out of business, all your employees are fired.