How educated were the apostles for the time they lived in?

2,505 Views | 26 Replies | Last: 9 yr ago by Jack Boyett
Amazing Moves
How long do you want to ignore this user?
Specifically the bible contributors. How good were their writing skills for the era? Do the scriptures reflect this?
PacifistAg
AG
Well, Luke was a doctor and Matthew a tax collector. I would assume there would be some decent level of education involved with those. Having interacted with the IRS before, I may be wrong about the tax collectors . Paul was Pharisee, if I'm not mistaken, which I would also assume meant he was highly educated.
Knife_Party
I was under the impression none of Matthew, Mark, Luke, or John actually wrote the books for which they are named after. Paul is correct though and would've been pretty educated. Jesus himself I assume was fairly uneducated (compared to Paul) if a carpenter by trade.
PacifistAg
AG
quote:
Jesus himself I assume was fairly uneducated (compared to Paul) if a carpenter by trade.

Well, maybe "uneducated" in the traditional sense, but even at 12, those in the Temple were amazed at His understanding and answers.
BusterAg
AG
Jesus was considered a Rabbi, even though he was a rebel as far as the Jewish synagogs were concerned.

I would say that Jesus was pretty well educated. He know more about the Torah than his opposers did.

As said above, pretty sure both Luke and Mathew could write.

It would not be far fetched that the majority of the rest of the apostles learned how to read and write after Jesus left. When your job changes to focus primarily on teaching, it would not be surprising to learn to write late in life.

The language in the gospels is not considered to be eloquent, complex or complicated. Even in the translations into English, the writing is pretty plain.
Martin Q. Blank