Coins on the bonfire memorial?

9,251 Views | 8 Replies | Last: 7 yr ago by F4GIB71
bigtruckguy3500
How long do you want to ignore this user?
Why do people do this? My understanding is that it stains the stone. It had to have started after 2006-2007, because I never remember seeing it there before that.
commando2004
AG
I've always wondered that. It's been asked on here before.

I don't remember it happening when I was a student. It seemed that for the first year or two after the memorial was built, people were hesitant to even walk on the grass.

Incidentally, I have a co-worker from Macedonia who says that back home, it's a tradition to leave coins on people's graves. And he has an uncle who made a habit of taking coins from graves and rationalizing it by the deceased not needing money anymore.
Gary79Ag
AG
I googled and found numerous reasons why people leave coins at gravesites, (note - I assume the same would apply to a memorial) but the one I prefer above all is the following:

quote:
Remembrance

No matter what the original intention of the coin-leaver may be, it seems clear that a coin left on a headstone is a symbol of remembrance and respect. A way of telling all who pass by that the person buried there was loved and visited often.

Maybe next time I wander through a cemetery, I will bring a pocketful of pennies.
bigtruckguy3500
quote:
I've always wondered that. It's been asked on here before.

Hah, I forgot, but that was me. I just all these pictures being posted of the memorial and it annoyed me again.

I still need to make a sign to put up there. Next time I pass through CS, hopefully.
ChipFTAC01
AG
It annoys me too. I think some people have confused the Bonfire memorial and Sully's memorial.
oldag76
AG
From snopes, other sites had similar info:

COINS LEFT ON TOMBSTONES

While visiting some cemeteries you may notice that headstones marking certain graves have coins on them, left by previous visitors to the grave.