? For TCTTS, SteadicaTm, etc - work/life balance

2,477 Views | 22 Replies | Last: 7 yr ago by Some Junkie Cosmonaut
UnderoosAg
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
I work in the engineering/construction industry and work/life balance is always a challenge, especially if you have kids. Always seems like you have to sacrifice one for the other. Folks I know that have two or more kids never seem to go very far or make it big. I grew up in the 80s, and it didn't seem like it was as big of an issue back then. Maybe I was just too young to notice.

Seems to me that while it's a challenge in my industry, it would be impossible in Hollywood. Are there any success stories? I mean, are there stories of folks with two or more children - folks who really like children - who made it to the top of the Hollywood food chain? Can you point to someone and say now that's a family man AND a Hollywood big wig, they oughta do a story on him!
The Collective
AG
quote:
folks who really like children - who made it to the top of the Hollywood food chain

Is this the new speculation thread in disguise by chance?
redd38
AG
Brad Pitt and Angelina Jolie have lots of kids and seem to be happily married.
UnderoosAg
AG
I don't know what you're talking about.

I just wonder if it's possible to be a really successful, really important Hollywood type while having at least two kids. Thinking back to the 80s, I guess it would have been difficult, especially for a guy.

I wonder who might have been able to pull it off.
TCTTS
AG
EDIT: Never mind - Part One!
TCTTS
AG
EDIT: Never mind - Part Two!
UnderoosAg
AG
Thanks.

But I still wonder if there's been a successful Hollywood guy with two kids.
TCTTS
AG
Ha. Well don't I feel like a huge idiot now?

In that case, I don't know... if I had to guess I'd (still) say... Charlie Sheen is someone who definitely worked hard, yet still had time for the kids...
Duncan Idaho
Noble attempt by the op. But too subtle
Brian Earl Spilner
AG
Oh wow.
Liquid Wrench