Aerospace/Engineering Nerds

6,285 Views | 63 Replies | Last: 9 yr ago by Aero95
SW-14
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
I got a bachelor's degree in aerospace and a master's in mechanical. There's not much sense in going the aero route when mechanical covers the basics of aero and is much more marketable. Once you realize you're not going to be single-handedly designing the next great fighter plane and possibly not even stay in the aerospace industry, mechanical becomes the obvious choice.
AeroAg2012
AG
Everyone always says that aero isn't as marketable, but I know countless guys that graduated AERO now working in other industries.

From comparing classwork, AERO was probably the most challenging curriculum in engineering at A&M and that equips you to do a lot after you graduate.
mid90
AG
quote:
Everyone always says that aero isn't as marketable, but I know countless guys that graduated AERO now working in other industries.

From comparing classwork, AERO was probably the most challenging curriculum in engineering at A&M and that equips you to do a lot after you graduate.

Yup.
EFE
AG
Just an FYI, I showed him the thread today in class and he's very appreciative of y'all's help and input.
Ryan34
AG
quote:

Aero is the most challenging?
Aero95
AG
at the undergrad level, almost certainly. Go look at the requirements compared to other engineering disciplines. We have it all, plus quantum physics for some reason. (still can't figure that out).
Ryan34
AG
Everyone thinks their major is the hardest. Except ID. They're just glad the engineering dept hasn't kicked them out yet.
Aero95
AG
Well, one undergrad major must be the hardest. It just happens to be Aero.